Eta Rho Chapter celebrates 56th Achievement Week program

L-R James Jackson, Jr., Marlin Heyward, Javan Turner

BY TOM PACKER, Contributor

PETERSBURG – Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Eta Rho Chapter celebrated 56 years of continued achievement Sunday, Nov. 11 at the Rock of Jesus Missionary Baptist Church. The chapter takes great pride in recognizing outstanding achievement in community service, high school academics and fraternity accomplishments.

The program presented three essay contest winners with tuition awards to the universities of their choice. The contest theme this year was: “How has social media impacted today’s youth, and what influence does it have on their future?”

Clayton Brody took home the first place prize of $1,500 while De’Zana Brown followed with the second place award of $750 and third place went to Kaila Priester in the amount of $500. Brody’s essay will be entered into the fraternity’s national contest.

In keeping with the fraternity’s desire to motivate black males to attain superior academics in high school, the chapter chose students from Lakewood High, Gibbs High and The Boca Ciega High with a grade point average of 3.0 or above.

In honoring the brotherhood, this year’s highest award—Omega Man of the Year—was bestowed to Bro. Marlin Heyward, who chaired several committees, held chapter offices at the executive level, continues to travel and represent Eta Rho at state, district and national meetings and is at present the vice basileus of the chapter.

Eta Rho Chapter gives great honor to community service, and in keeping with that goal, Boca Ciega High School Principal Michael Vigue was chosen as Citizen of the Year for his hands-on dedication to the success of all the children in his charge.

Chapter Basileus James Jackson, Jr., presented several special recognition Basileus Awards to brothers that continue to go beyond the call of duty. This year’s honorees included Leander Lester (Manhood Award), Grant McMillon III (Scholarship Award), Derek Cooper (Uplift Award) Marcus Wilson (Perseverance Award) and Glenn Catchings (Leadership Award).

The brothers of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Eta Rho Chapter continue to partner with the communities in which they are honored to serve. The chapter is most grateful to the Rock of Jesus Missionary Baptist Church and its pastor the Rev. Frank Peterman for the many years they have provided an open door to the chapter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top