Pinellas County Commissioner Rene Flowers elected as Florida Association of Counties second vice president

Newly elected Second Vice President and Pinellas County Commissioner Rene Flowers brings her passions to an executive committee committed to preserving home rule.

ORANGE COUNTY — On Friday, June 30, Pinellas County Commissioner Rene Flowers was elected as second vice president of the Florida Association of Counties (FAC) at the association’s annual business meeting hosted during FAC’s Annual Conference & Educational Exposition in Orange County, Fla.

Commissioner Flowers has been an active member of FAC since 2020 by sitting on numerous policy committees such as Community and Urban Affairs, Finance, Tax and Administration, and Health, Safety and Justice. Additionally, she recently completed her Advanced County Commissioner II curriculum, receiving the highest level of commissioner education offered by the Institute for County Government.

“Leadership and giving back to my community are who I am at my core,” shares newly elected Second Vice President and Pinellas County Commissioner Rene Flowers. “After joining the association, I knew I wanted to pursue a leadership role because it would allow me to bring those two passions together while asserting the needs of Florida counties.”

Commissioner Flowers will assist the executive committee in their policy and advocacy initiatives as second vice president.  

“After getting to know Commissioner Flowers, I knew she would excel in a leadership position at the association,” shares Ginger Delegal, Executive Director of FAC. “Her passion for her community exudes through every conversation you have with her, and I am thrilled to have her on our leadership team.”

Commissioner Flowers is joined on the FAC Executive Committee by President Bill Truex of Charlotte County, President-Elect Terry Burroughs of Okeechobee County, First Vice President Michelle Lincoln of Monroe County and Immediate Past President Lee Constantine of Seminole County. 

The association is governed by a board of directors comprised of one county commissioner from each state senate district (40), five executive officers, six county commissioners appointed at-large with no more than three of the six from counties with populations of 75,000 or more and the past presidents of FAC.  

About the Florida Association of Counties

Founded in 1929, the Florida Association of Counties has represented the diverse interests of Florida’s counties, emphasizing the importance of protecting home rule – the concept that communities and their local leaders should make the decisions that impact their community. The Florida Association of Counties helps counties effectively serve and represent Floridians by strengthening and preserving county home rule through advocacy, education and collaboration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top