AKA AKAdemy Showcase/Awards Program

AKA AKAdemy Program


ST. PETERSBURG The Youth Development Foundation (YDF) of the Zeta Upsilon Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. will hold its annual AKA AKAdemy Showcase/Awards Program at the St. Petersburg Coliseum this Friday, May 25.

The show will acknowledge the 22 graduates of the AKAdemy Class of 2018 with a biographic and photo introduction and processional march. YDF in collaboration with the Zeta Upsilon Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha will present over $20,000 in academic scholarships.

The scholarships include donations from the David T. Welch scholarship fund and Randy Lewis scholarship fund.  The men of the Eta Rho Chapter of Omega Psi Phi (in collaboration with the Eta Rho Services Foundation) will also present $3,000 in scholarships and include community donations from the Lew Williams scholarship fund.

AKAdemy Showcase Poster.ai

Special recognition will be given to those AKAdemy students that made honor roll all year, and the AKAdemic Perfection Awards will be presented to the following students that made the Dean’s list all year:  Markira Greene, Mykenzi Davis-Cowart, Jordan Moore and Timothy Garner.  AKAdemy Program Awards will be presented to several students for their participation, involvement and engagement during the 2017-18 program year.

AKA AKAdemy Photo

As always, the AKAdemy will celebrate the conclusion of the program year by showcasing fashion, dance and step focused on encouraging the students and community youth to celebrate the program.

YDF and the AKA AKAdemy receives more than $109,000 annually from the Pinellas County Juvenile Welfare Board.  The program is administered by the ladies of Zeta Upsilon Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha in collaboration with the men of the Eta Rho Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity.

Share the news with your friends!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>